Are there any products that contain animal-derived nutrients?
Hammer Whey and Recoverite contain dairy-derived whey protein isolate. The Nocciola (Hazelnut-Chocolate) flavor of Hammer Gel contains a small amount of milk as part of the hazelnut paste. These are the only fuels to contain animal-derived nutrients.
It's important to note that none of the Hammer Bars or Hammer Vegan Protein Bars contain any ingredient from animal sources; they are all 100% vegan-friendly. The Hammer Bars that contain chocolateÃ¢‚¬Chocolate Chip, Coconut Chocolate ChipÃ¢‚¬and the Chocolate Peanut Hammer Vegan Protein Bar are not listed as "Certified Vegan" because the manufacturer makes them on shared equipment that also makes dairy chocolate. According to the manufacturer, the bars are made "in our own certified organic and kosher facility (which is exceedingly rare in this business). We also thoroughly clean the machines between productions. However, there may be trace amounts - in extremely low PPM (parts per million) - of dairy. Otherwise, the chocolate we use is dark chocolate and it is non-dairy."
These particular flavors of Hammer Bars/Hammer Vegan Protein Bars are most certainly vegan; however, the manufacturer is extremely conscientious when it comes to "truth in labeling," as are we at Hammer Nutrition, which is why they chose not to list the bars that contain non-dairy chocolate as being Ã¢‚¬Å“Certified Vegan.Ã¢‚¬ï¿½
Three Hammer Nutrition supplements contain animal-derived nutrients. Tissue Rejuvenator contains glucosamine sulfate, chondroitin sulfate, and UC Type II collagen, all of animal origin. EndurOmega supplies omega-3 fatty acids derived from fish. EndurOmega and Hammer Hemp Softgels use an animal-derived softgel capsule; for the rest of the supplements, vegetable capsules are used. All of the fillers we use in the encapsulated products are not of animal origin.