1.800.336.1977 Orders / Questions / Free Consultations
Cart
0
Buy $100.00 more for FREE shipping!
Search

Product Detail & Benefits

Description:

HEED is a definite "step up" and welcome departure from the seemingly endless number of powdered sports drinks available to endurance athletes. One of the primary flaws inherent with most sports drinks is their reliance on simple sugars as the carbohydrate source. The use of simple sugars such as glucose, sucrose, and fructose not only severely limits the amount of calories that can be efficiently digested and utilized for energy, but also may cause wild fluctuations in energy levels. HEED's complex carbohydrate formula, on the other hand, allows you to obtain the ideal amount of calories you need, providing a more consistent and longer lasting energy supply, and without putting you at risk for the stomach distress commonly caused by simple sugars.

HEED also provides a complete, easily assimilated electrolyte profile—not just salt and potassium, which comprise the electrolyte "profile" of most other drinks. For many athletes under normal conditions, one or two scoops of HEED will completely fulfill electrolyte requirements (in addition to caloric requirements). For other athletes, the electrolyte profile in HEED will provide an excellent base from which additional Endurolytes can be added to completely satisfy electrolyte needs. With added chromium polynicotinate for maintaining stable blood glucose levels and l-carnosine for buffering lactic acid, HEED is truly in a class of its own in the world of powdered sports drinks.

So whenever a sports drink is your preferred choice, "heed" your body's desire for a superior fuel. HEED is the only choice you need to make!

Benefits:

HEED sports drink comes in the following delicious flavors: Strawberry, Melon, Mandarin Orange, Lemon-Lime, and Unflavored.

Sports drinks have been around a long time, and for many athletes they're more convenient than energy gels. Unfortunately, most sport drinks are not much more than artificially colored sugar water that does little to aid your performance and even less for your health. That is why we developed HEED as a healthy alternative; HEED's subtle tasting, complex carbohydrate formula goes down easily and supplies you with consistent, long-lasting energy and the electrolytes you need to keep pushing the pace. No citric acid is added to the formula, so it will not burn your throat or stomach. HEED's sweeteners, stevia and xylitol, are actually good for you; xylitol is especially beneficial for helping promote oral health. The full-spectrum, amino acid-chelated electrolyte profile helps satisfy your body's mineral requirements. L-carnosine and chromium polynicotinate help to buffer lactic acid and support stable blood glucose levels. If you prefer sports drinks over energy gels or like to use a combination of the two, try HEED and find out what a sports drink done right can do for your athletic performance.

FAQ Hammer Nutrition Fuels, what they are and how to use them

Less is more!
We listened to your input and feedback and reduced the size of our containers, while retaining the same amount of powder content within.

Nutrition Labels:

HEED Lemon-Lime
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size: 29 g (Approx 1 Level Scoop or single serving)
1 Level Scoop: 47.0 cc = 3.2 Tbsp = 9.5 tsp
  Amount Per Serving % Daily Value
Calories 100
Calories from Fat 0
Total Fat 0 g 0%
Sodium 45 mg 2%
Potassium 25 mg <1%
Total Carbohydrate 27 g 9%*
Sugars 2 g
Protein 0 g
Calcium 6%
Magnesium 8%
Manganese 25%
Chromium 20%
Not a significant source of total fat, saturated fat, trans fat, cholesterol, dietary fiber, vitamin A, vitamin C, and iron.
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.
Ingredients: Maltodextrin, Xylitol, Natural Flavor, Calcium Chelate, Potassium Chelate, Magnesium Chelate, Salt, L-Carnosine, Stevia, Glycine, Tyrosine, Manganese Chelate, Chromium Polynicotinate.
Allergen Warning: This product is processed in a facility that also processes dairy and soy products. This product contains Xylitol.
HEED Mandarin Orange
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size: 29 g (Approx 1 Level Scoop or single serving)
1 Level Scoop: 47.0 cc = 3.2 Tbsp = 9.5 tsp
  Amount Per Serving % Daily Value
Calories 100
Calories from Fat 0
Total Fat 0 g 0%
Sodium 45 mg 2%
Potassium 25 mg <1%
Total Carbohydrate 27 g 9%*
Sugars 3 g
Protein 0 g
Calcium 6%
Magnesium 8%
Manganese 25%
Chromium 20%
Not a significant source of total fat, saturated fat, trans fat, cholesterol, dietary fiber, vitamin A, vitamin C, and iron.
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.
Ingredients: Maltodextrin, Xylitol, Natural Flavor, Calcium Chelate, Potassium Chelate, Magnesium Chelate, Salt, L-Carnosine, Stevia, Glycine, Tyrosine, Manganese Chelate, Chromium Polynicotinate.
Allergen Warning: This product is processed in a facility that also processes dairy and soy products. This product contains Xylitol.
HEED Melon
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size: 29 g (Approx 1 Level Scoop or single serving)
1 Level Scoop: 47.0 cc = 3.2 Tbsp = 9.5 tsp
  Amount Per Serving % Daily Value
Calories 100
Calories from Fat 0
Total Fat 0 g 0%
Sodium 45 mg 2%
Potassium 25 mg <1%
Total Carbohydrate 27 g 9%*
Sugars 2 g
Protein 0 g
Calcium 6%
Magnesium 8%
Manganese 25%
Chromium 20%
Not a significant source of total fat, saturated fat, trans fat, cholesterol, dietary fiber, vitamin A, vitamin C, and iron.
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.
Ingredients: Maltodextrin, Xylitol, Natural Flavor, Calcium Chelate, Potassium Chelate, Magnesium Chelate, Salt, L-Carnosine, Stevia, Glycine, Tyrosine, Manganese Chelate, Chromium Polynicotinate.
Allergen Warning: This product is processed in a facility that also processes dairy and soy products. This product contains Xylitol.
HEED Strawberry
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size: 29 g (Approx 1 Level Scoop or single serving)
1 Level Scoop: 47.0 cc = 3.2 Tbsp = 9.5 tsp
  Amount Per Serving % Daily Value
Calories 100
Calories from Fat 0
Total Fat 0 g 0%
Sodium 45 mg 2%
Potassium 25 mg <1%
Total Carbohydrate 27 g 9%*
Sugars 2 g
Protein 0 g
Calcium 6%
Magnesium 8%
Manganese 25%
Chromium 20%
Not a significant source of total fat, saturated fat, trans fat, cholesterol, dietary fiber, vitamin A, vitamin C, and iron.
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.
Ingredients: Maltodextrin, Xylitol, Natural Flavor, Calcium Chelate, Potassium Chelate, Magnesium Chelate, Salt, L-Carnosine, Stevia, Glycine, Tyrosine, Manganese Chelate, Chromium Polynicotinate.
Allergen Warning: This product is processed in a facility that also processes dairy and soy products. This product contains Xylitol.
HEED Unflavored
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size: 29 g (Approx 1 Level Scoop)
1 Level Scoop: 47.0 cc = 3.2 Tbsp = 9.5 tsp
  Amount Per Serving % Daily Value
Calories 100
Calories from Fat 0
Total Fat 0 g 0%
Sodium 45 mg 2%
Potassium 25 mg <1%
Total Carbohydrate 27 g 9%*
Sugars 2 g
Protein 0 g
Calcium 6%
Magnesium 8%
Manganese 25%
Chromium 20%
Not a significant source of total fat, saturated fat, trans fat, cholesterol, dietary fiber, vitamin A, vitamin C, and iron.
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.
Ingredients: Maltodextrin, Xylitol, Calcium Chelate, Potassium Chelate, Magnesium Chelate, Salt, L-Carnosine, Stevia, Glycine, L-Tyrosine, Manganese Chelate, Chromium Polynicotinate.
Allergen Warning: This product is processed in a facility that also processes dairy and soy products. This product contains Xylitol.

HEED® Sports Drink does not contain:

Wheat, gluten, dairy, added simple sugars, stimulants, fad ingredients, or artificial flavors, colors, or sweeteners. If an "energy drink" contains any of the above ingredients, it can cause unwanted side effects that may actually hinder your performance.

Nutrition & Usage Tips

Athletes and sugar: nothing to smile about

Athletes and sugar: nothing to smile about

Sugar-laden sports drinks blamed for Olympians' poor oral health.

more
HEED (AES vol 11.14)

HEED (AES vol 11.14)

Rock solid, sustained energy—without the burn or flash and crash!

more
Carbohydrates 101

Carbohydrates 101

The primary source of muscle energy production is Adenosine Triphosphate ->ATP).

more
Proper Fueling - Pre-workout & race suggestions

Proper Fueling - Pre-workout & race suggestions

How many times have you had a bite from an energy bar, taken a swig from an energy drink, or eaten a meal just an hour or two before...

more
146 Reasons Sugar Ruins Your Health

146 Reasons Sugar Ruins Your Health

We are grateful to Dr. Appleton for granting us permission to reprint this most recent version of her eye-opening article.

more
Caloric Intake - Proper Amounts During Endurance Exercise

Caloric Intake - Proper Amounts During Endurance Exercise

Endurance and ultra-endurance athletes require all three forms of fuel the human body uses for energy: carbohydrate, protein, and fat.

more
Dietary Fructose and Fructose Containing Sweeteners Negatively Impact Health

Dietary Fructose and Fructose Containing Sweeteners Negatively Impact Health

Consuming as little as 40-50 grams or slightly over 1.5-ounce fructose over a 10 hour period may increase blood pressure, blood triglycerides...

more
Aspartame Toxicity: Observed Side-Effects From Food & Drink

Aspartame Toxicity: Observed Side-Effects From Food & Drink

Before eating or drinking anything with Aspartame on the run or just for "fun", give serious thought to its proven toxic accumulative-use side effects shown in a wide assortment of related reliable research.

more
What type of sugar do we use?

What type of sugar do we use?

PREFATORY REMARKS REGARDING INDIVIDUAL BIOCHEMISTRY & THE COMMON PHYSIOLOGY OF EXERCISE METABOLISM

more
Fructose Sweeteners Negatively Impact Blood Sugar and Lipid Metabolism Inhibiting Energy Production

Fructose Sweeteners Negatively Impact Blood Sugar and Lipid Metabolism Inhibiting Energy Production

Fructose consumption alters how our body metabolizes energy from blood glucose and lipids resulting in serious health disorders...

more
Simple Sugars and Complex Carbohydrates - An Incompatible Combination

Simple Sugars and Complex Carbohydrates - An Incompatible Combination

If you look on a container of a Hammer Nutrition fuel you'll find something that you'll probably not see on another energy drink or gel, a warning.

more
What to Eat Pre-Race

What to Eat Pre-Race

What advantages are achieved by consuming carbohydrates sooner than 3 hours as opposed to later than 3 hours?

more
The Hammer Nutrition Fuels

The Hammer Nutrition Fuels

A Guide to What They Are and How to Use Them. Whether your workouts or races last an hour or two, or a week or two, Hammer Nutrition has the fuels your body craves.

more
The Top 10 - The Biggest Mistakes Endurance Athletes Make

The Top 10 - The Biggest Mistakes Endurance Athletes Make

If you're cramping, fading, or bonking and not sure why, read this! Here's how to avoid the most common mistakes.

more
Fructose (Corn Syrup) is No Answer For a Sweetener

Fructose (Corn Syrup) is No Answer For a Sweetener

The consumption of fructose (corn syrup) has risen considerably in the general population within recent years.

more
Monosodium Glutamate MSG, Glutamic Acid Glutamate, Glutamine Review

Monosodium Glutamate MSG, Glutamic Acid Glutamate, Glutamine Review

Glutamic Acid, or its ionic form, Glutamate, and Glutamine are under-rated "good" dietary amino acids found in most high protein foods.

more
Get the VIP Treatment
Join the Hammer VIP Program Today!

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Take Heed I have been using Heed since a friend recommended it to me when I started cycling five years ago. I use it on every ride. I like the taste and the fact that it has no added sugar. It really helps to fuel my ride. The smell of lemon-lime Heed always reminds me of the good times I have had in the saddle.
Date published: 2013-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Energy with great taste! My buddy and I ran a 1/2 marathon last weekend, so I mixed up some HEED Sports Drink in our running bottles. After the race he commented how great the drink tasted and gave him energy to push through the final miles.
Date published: 2015-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turned it all around for me. I am a former triathlete turned mountain biker and always seemed to struggle with my longer races and rides. Once I got into the 3 hour my energy level would tank. Then last year some friends and I planned a trip to Moab Utah, a mountain biking Mecca, and I knew I had to figure out how to make it through longer rides without bonking. I didnt want this trip to be a disaster. About 6 month prior to the trip I started using HEED coupled with the gels and could instantly feel the results. I no longer felt trash after just a hour or two on the bike on those hot summer days. This made riding back to back to back days no problem. Thank you Hammer for saving my legs and my trip!
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great drink Just finished the SB 250 and used HEED all day long.
Date published: 2015-07-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from non sweet and a little lemon like taste. I thought it will be sour and more lemon rich but not - that is a good thing. The only thing I do not understood is why it does not dissolve completely , it left with small particles on the bottom of the bottle even after 2 minutes of shaking and mixing with water.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HEED, It Works! I have been using HEED for about a year and recently re-stocked my supply. You know what I like best about it, other than it serves its intended purpose? The taste! Unlike so many other energy drinks or powders, this one is mild, not overly sweet or sour and goes down just right. Of course, it works, and moreso than advertised. Hammer's literature states this particular fuel is meant for shorter rides. However, I use it on 100+ mile journeys and it has never let me down. Used in concert with Perpetuem Solids, I could ride all day and not want for energy and hydration. It is that good! Highly recommended.
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HEED is the best I've been using HEED for about a decade now.  It beats the pants off any sports drink I've ever tried (and I've tried several).  Even though I mix it up strong (1.5 scoops for 24oz of liquid), it satisfies thirst instead of just making me thirstier like other sports drinks do, while also supplying me with plenty of the replacement electrolytes I sweat out in large quantities.  It keeps me from cramping on long hot rides.  On centuries I carry extra servings of HEED in ziploc baggies, since most century rides only supply Gatorade.
Date published: 2013-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The choice for endurance Don't want to sound like a commercial, but several people who enjoy distance and endurance sports only use Hammer products. Muscle fatigue really is delayed, and when it occurs it feels smoothed out. I know a certain level of fatigue causes me to shorten or even stop my exercise. But, while using HEED or Perpetuem, fatigue is reduced and I think "I can push through this" when I'd otherwise stop. The result? Less soreness. Prolonged exercise. Improved endurance. The biggest benefit are health concerns when compared to 'performance' mixtures found at GNC or local sport supplement stores. Long term use of those products, especially pre-workout, can really mess you up and develop chemical dependence.
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I just started using Heed this year as a new precursor to my training as a fuel and a way to add nutrition and water while training for the 24 hour challenge coming up in a couple of weeks, I find that it is to drink and it does not make my stomach upset, there is no nasty sweet after taste left in my mouth, which is really nice when the temps. are up, even then it does not get nasty or sugary.
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for shorter workouts I have been using HEED fairly consistently over my "off-season" for some of my maintenance workouts and find that it works very well for 1-2 hour workouts in providing calories, electrolytes, and hydration. I have even used it on some longer bike rides with added scoops of Endurolytes powder to supplement the foods and gels that I would have to provide calories. I have used the mandarin orange and melon flavors and like both of them. I like that the flavor isn't as acidic as many of the other sports drinks out there. I typically use two scoops for a 16-20 ounce water bottle.
Date published: 2014-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helping with muscle cramps I'm a new cyclist (about 4 months into it) and was having horrible muscle cramps. Part of it was bike fit but John and Orange Cycles in Orlando suggested I try this product. I haven't eliminated cramping but it has gotten a whole lot better. I quit taking Vytorin as well (heard statins could cause cramping; talked to doc first). The Gel has been a big bonus for me to. Hopefully a year from now, I'll have this stuff figured out and my fitness and endurance will be much better.
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried for the first time - LOVE IT! I'm a competitive racer for Hagens Berman, racing for nearly 40 years. At a race early in the season, our team had some trial packs of HEED on a very hot day. I raced a crit and then needed to head home in the saddle. I picked up a pack of HEED, and fell in love. It was perfect for a hot, fast day in the saddle. Kept me hydrated with carbs on board. I appreciate that it is organic and not full of poor quality sugars. I now don't ride without a bottle of HEED on the bike. It is a mainstay. Good compliment for a bottle of Perpetuem in the other cage on a longer day, too.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A friend of mine who uses a variety of hammers products recommended the heed powder, electrolytes, & fizz tablets to combat constant cramping after being out in the heat all day umpiring games. no matter what i tried worked, salt tablets, gatorade, water etc, but once i got a steady dose of electrolytes in my system i am so glad to say - the cramps are a thing of the past. so thanks to my friend & coach of the west valley slammers for taking the time to help a man in blue for a change instead of the constant badgering we are usually use to getting from the coaches lol
Date published: 2014-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST TASTING ELECTROLYTE/ENERGY DRINK PERIOD! I've been using Hammer Heed for over a year now and I use it during every run or cycling workout. There's no better product of its type out there!
Date published: 2015-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't run without it I have used HEED for years. It is a great product and I wouldn't run a race or training run without it.
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps me going... This product keeps me going on the road and trail, great stuff!!!
Date published: 2014-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not tasty enough I bought this for my grandson who is on his high school soccer team. He was complaining about muscle cramps and so after some research bought the Heed product. I am mixing one scoop in 16 oz of purified water along with another product which adds more flavor. My grandson complained that the Heed alone (even with 3 scoops in 16 oz) was not tasty enough for him. With the combination, he is now drinking it and has not complained about having muscle cramps. I would prefer to get a safer Hammer product to increase the taste. Please give me suggestions on that.
Date published: 2015-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sports drinks are new to me. The idea of sports drinks were new to me. I have always been a weekend warrior and water drinker who believed that sufficient. I recently renewed my commitment to cycling but found after my saddle time increase to beyond an hour that I was at an energy deficit for the duration of the ride as well as for the rest of the day. I was talking to my brother, a distance runner, who provided a framework to think about hydration and energy and he recommended the Hammer products. I went to the website, and read the tremendous amount of research material posted and decided to purchase Heed and Recoverite samples from my local bike shop as most of my rides are in the one to two hour range. Following the product directions and recommendations I immediately discovered that I had more energy, felt stronger during the ride and recovered quicker without my normal drag using the Recoverite. The difference vs water only is amazing! I am a new convert to Hammer products and ordered the economy sizes of Heed and Recoverite to supplement my hydration. As for drink-ablity Heed lemon-lime is light in flavor and doesn't make my mouth gum up. Following up with water in the bottle on a later ride, no residual flavor remained to contaminate a water only bottle. Recoverite Chocolate has a pleasing flavor and is easy to drink. I also I have been very pleased both products for their taste and flavor but even more impressed with the results. Thank you for making products that are helping me achieve a new level of fitness.
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best sports drink out there I love the milder taste of HN Heed compared with other brands of sports drink out there, (strawberry is my favorite), I use this in almost all my workouts, I stay better hydrated as I like the taste of it, so am more inclined to drink it, and stay strong in my workouts due to it providing calories and electrolytes too.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good taste and feeling better on rides, Used to ride a lot but now it is to maintain and not bonk when going out on a 50 mile ride. There is a difference when riding using these products, not feeling a wasted sensation as when taking other stuff, THAT is GOOD! So far, HEED and FIZZ are working out, hopefully later on, I can do an updated review :-)
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good product, bad taste I have to say that the overall nutritional profile is excellent and a welcome retreat from the over-sugared drinks available at most stores. With that said, the taste leaves a lot to be desired and the use of stevia makes the mixture taste more like a diet beverage than I would have hoped.
Date published: 2014-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Taste and Benefits One of the students at school conducting a Science Experiement on electrolytes in sports drinks. Heed's amount of electrolytes completely outnumbered those of Gatorade and Powerade. Also, there is no high fructose corn syrup in Heed, and my children love the taste of the Lemon-Lime.
Date published: 2015-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps keep me fueled and cramp free! I turned to HEED after a lot of research because of it's ingredients all of which are recognizable without a degree in chemistry. No funky aftertaste, good amount of electrolytes, and a clean taste. Sometimes I add a Fizz for some added electrolytes, and it tastes even better!
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Nutrition and Performance, bad Taste. From a nutrition label and performance perspective, this product is spot on. I used it while winter backpacking and hiking for several days and nights in the severe cold. I normally “bonk” (run out of energy) at some point on my summit climbs but never had an issue last trip. So I believe this and other sample Hammer products I received with my order contributed to a better trip. I understand taste is a personal preference. My hiking partner loves the taste of Heed. I don’t care for it at all which is why I didn’t give this 5 stars. It’s too sweet and doesn’t have a strong enough fruit flavor (lime or orange depending which one you buy). I much prefer the taste of GU but prefer the nutrition label on HEED. I try to be fair in my reviews. I hope this helps in making your purchase decision.
Date published: 2014-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just got my lemon - lime last week - started using it when I go cross country skiing and will use for running - I enjoy it at the Berkie in Hayward, WI. I drink it at every food station - Doesn't upset my stomach - keeps me going.
Date published: 2014-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from trial run I have only just begun to use these products, but so far I am happy. It is true that it is very easy on my stomach and that I like. So far my energy level is holding up. I'll be doing more aggressive testing in the weeks to come.
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Combination I've been buying Heed (Orange) and Sustained Energy for 5 years and together they make the perfect combination for my long training rides. When I'm on the bike for 10 to 12 hours on a Sunday, I can count on all the energy I need from these two sources without ever feeling hungry. I highly recommend this combination for anyone who wants to get a nice even dose of energy that comes with every sip you take. Not to mention, the taste is fantastic. (The Add Photo below would never add the photo)
Date published: 2015-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heed I have used Hammer products for years. I race self supported gravel events. This year I was talked into giving Tailwind a try. I have gone back to Hammer for better results. Thanks for a great quality products.
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mild Flavor and Works Great The mild flavor makes it easy to put down as much electrolytes as you need to on a long, hot bike ride. Keeps cramps and dizziness at bay. Valuable calories in the heat. I absolutely rely on this product!
Date published: 2014-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great when riding only an hour or two I live in Colorado and generally do most of my training on my indoor trainer during the winter months. I ride 6 days a week and use Heed for most of those rides. Longer rides I tend to use Perpetuem. 
Date published: 2014-01-26
  • 2015-08-26T06:56CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_231
  • loc_en_US, sid_he, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_hammernutrition