Forum

GI with Perpetuem

The Forum for Endurance Athletes

GI with Perpetuem

Postby yorkcb7 » Mon Jul 09, 2012 5:48 am

Just wondering if anyone else experience GI issues? Is there a way of solving this. I am fairly new to Hammer so I am trying to figure out the correct blend of products to mix. Currently using gels, perpetuem, soy and fizz. All seem to be doing me well. I don't get sick or a turning stomach, become somewhat gassey around 2-3 hours into long rides. Trying to figure out what it is. Never happens on rides/runs scheduled less then 2 hours as I usually do not use to much supplemented nutrition. Any one else experience this?
yorkcb7

Re: GI with Perpetuem

Postby steve-born » Mon Jul 09, 2012 2:39 pm

Hello yorkcb7 -

First, make sure that you're following our recommendations regarding pre-workout/race food or fuel consumption. You'll find that information in the article Proper Fueling - Pre-workout & race suggestions at http://www.hammernutrition.com/knowledge/proper-fueling-pre-workout-amp-race-suggestions.1279.html

The reason I bring this up is because one of the reasons why athletes experience stomach distress DURING their workouts and races is because they're improperly fueling PRIOR to the workouts and races. If you will follow our suggestions that are outlined in the article I promise you will experience a plethora of benefits, one of which is minimization-to-elimination of stomach issues.

In the article The Hammer Nutrition Fuels - What They Are and How to Use Them (http://www.hammernutrition.com/knowledge/the-hammer-nutrition-fuels-what-they-are-and-how-to-use-them.1252.html), specifically in the section entitled "Key things to remember regarding fueling," I wrote: