Forum

4hr Marathon Fueling with gels/perpetuem solids

The Forum for Endurance Athletes

4hr Marathon Fueling with gels/perpetuem solids

Postby Becker » Tue Feb 08, 2011 2:03 pm

Hello,

My name is Greg Becker, and I'm new to the forum. I have been using Hammer Products for about 2 years for running during training and competition. I use gels, Perpetuem, and Recoverite.

I have had good success with gels only, for shorter events, 10k's, and half marathons. Today, as I was suggesting Hammer products to a friend that he should use for his running (he is switching from another brand), I came over to the website and noticed the new Perpetuem solids - very cool!

What I'm after is a fueling recommendation. I'm planning to run a sub 4hr marathon in March. I'm 6'2", 175lb. I've got the pre-race meal/food part squared away as far as not eating within 3hrs of the start. I'm thinking that a combination of gels, and Perpetuem solids would work well, but I'm not positive on the serving size. For workouts up to 2.5 hours thus far, I've consumed a gel every 30 minutes with good results. I'd like to get away from the multi-hr bottle of Perp if possible, I can see how it works well on a bike, but isn't quite as easy with the smaller handheld bottles that I use.

Would a gel every 30-45 minutes, along with 2-3 tablets of Perpetuem solid be appropriate? Along with the 16-24oz of water per hour? Once I settle on a fueling strategy I plan to use it for the remainder of my long runs to dial it in.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Greg Becker
Becker

Re: 4hr Marathon Fueling with gels/perpetuem solids

Postby steve-born » Mon Feb 14, 2011 12:02 pm

Hello Greg -

Every serving of Hammer Gel contains 80-90 calories, depending on flavor. Every Perpetuem Solids wafer contains 33.3 calories.