Forum

Hypoglycemia

The Forum for Endurance Athletes

Hypoglycemia

Postby popester09 » Wed Oct 20, 2010 7:40 pm

I've recently been diagnosed with reactive hypoglycemia (my pancreas over-reacts and sends too much insulin). I get easily fatigued and weak when this happens. So, I have a 30 mile MTB race coming in the next few weeks (possibly with snow) :shock: and I need some quick in-sight for my in-ride fueling. Can I still use Hammer gel? Should I add some protein (Perpetuem)? I'm at a loss and need some insight...FAST! Thanks so much!
popester09

Re: Hypoglycemia

Postby steve-born » Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:06 am

Hello popester09 -

I've been out of the country for 2+ weeks and with very limited email access, which is why my reply is coming to you later than I'd normally prefer.

I am not a medical professional, nor an expert on the subject, so I did a little research. One site I reviewed (written by a certified diabetes educator) stated, "Reactive hypoglycemia is quite rare. It is characterized by a fall in blood glucose two to four hours after eating, accompanied by a feeling of weakness, faintness, perspiration, anxiety, and/or hunger. It is not related to the hypoglycemia associated with some blood-glucose-lowering medications, such as insulin or sulfonylureas."